Bloc Party returns with a new single Traps and unveils its sixth album – Music News


Bloc Party has announced its return with its sixth album, “Alpha Games”, which will be released next year.

Along with the release of the lead single “Traps,” Kele Okereke and colleagues have announced that the long-awaited sequel to 2016’s “Hymns” will arrive on April 29.

Speaking about this new rock track, frontman Kele said, “From the moment we wrote ‘Traps’ we knew it had to be the first thing people would hear from this album.

“Play it in the soundchecks on our last tour before it was over and hear how it sounded in these big rooms and outside.”

On Twitter, the group wrote: “Thank you for waiting patiently, we missed you and we can’t wait to share everything we’ve been working on.”

In 2018, the hitmakers of “Banquet” performed their flagship LP “Silent Alarm” in full on tour across Europe.

The year before, Kele had teamed up with Years & Years frontman Olly Alexander on a “romantic duet”, “Grounds For Resentment”.

The two singers are openly gay and have decided to release the track in an effort to break the taboo surrounding musicians in the pop industry who think they should use “codes” to talk about their sexuality in songs rather than frankly talk about the same sex. relationships.

“This Modern Love” star Kele, 40, said the single – which appeared on his solo LP “Fatherland” – was just the starting point for breaking down the barrier, as he admitted that he There was “a long way to go” when it came to gay pop stars feeling confident enough to “portray love and desire authentically.”

He said at the time: “I remember reading something that [Olly] wrote about the use of pronouns in pop music for gay artists which I found very insightful and intelligent – that the use of pronouns was the last frontier for gay artists.

“There are a lot of homosexual acts that avoid using the term he when they sing about homosexual desire.

“It’ll just be a neutral term, as Olly understands from what I’ve read that there is a long way to go for gay musicians to be able to authentically describe love and desire. .

“So I was very happy to sing a romantic duet with him on my album, because I couldn’t think of a precedent of gay musicians singing a love song without having to hide behind codes.”

Kele was referring to an interview Olly, 31, did previously, where he said he’d like to see more mainstream gay stars be more open about their sexuality, and praised pop megastar Miley Cyrus for the promotion of a “non-binary genre”.

The tracklist for “Alpha Games” is:

1. “Day drinker”

2. “Pitfalls”

3. “You should know the truth”

4. “Callum is a serpent”

5. “Brutal justice”

6. “Girls fight”

7. “Things to come”

8. ‘Sex Magic’

9. “By all necessary means”

10. “In situ”

11. “If we get caught”

12. “The peace offering”


About Elizabeth J. Swartz

Check Also

Ward Thomas Announces New ‘Music In The Madness’ Album And UK Spring Tour

Photo: Marek Puć Ward Thomas has announced a new album and …