Charley Crockett Announces New Album “Music City USA”

Charley Crockett will release his second full album of 2021 in September. the texan artist City of Music United States (released September 17) follows James Hand’s surprise tribute 10 for Thin and includes the single “I Need Your Love,” which was released on Friday.

City of Music United States continues the hugely prolific streak that Crockett has maintained in recent years and will make his 10th album since 2015. This time he worked with producer Mark Neill, who also oversaw Crockett’s 2020 album Welcome to hard times.

“I Need Your Love” shows the soulful side of Crockett’s artistry, slowing the tempo to a languid groove and dropping a few wet horn hits. “Ooh child, I’ve been playing, I’ve been running around / I know trouble comes ’cause grief is all I’ve found,” he sings, begging a little (or a lot) of ‘affection.

Although its title is a nod to Nashville’s nickname, City of Music United States demonstrates his ease in switching from one style to another and distances him somewhat from the community of singer-songwriters in the country capital.

“I feel like it’s just one of my many faces,” Crockett said. rolling stone earlier this year. “I don’t mean it’s going badly: I can do what they do, but they can’t do what I do. And the only thing they look up to me for is the things they compare me to because of what they do.

Crockett has plenty of headliners and festival dates planned for this summer, including Orville Peck’s Rodeo at Red Rocks, Austin City Limits and MerleFest.

  1. “Honest Fight”
  2. “I need your love”
  3. “The world just broke my heart”
  4. “Are We Alone Still”
  5. “This Stupid Game”
  6. “Around This World”
  7. “Music City USA”
  8. “Just so you know”
  9. “Lies and Regrets”
  10. “I will not cry”
  11. “Smoky”
  12. “Muddy Water”
  13. “518”
  14. “Only game in town”
  15. “Hang on”
  16. “Jumprope”

About Elizabeth J. Swartz

Check Also

Ward Thomas Announces New ‘Music In The Madness’ Album And UK Spring Tour

Photo: Marek Puć Ward Thomas has announced a new album and …