King Crimson details new live album ‘Music Is Our Friend’

‘Music Is Our Friend’ arrives in November.

By Nate Todd 25 October 2021 • 2:10 p.m. PDT

King Crimson detailed a new live album, Music is our friend, which is due out on November 19. The material for the double LP comes from the Music Is Our Friend 2021 US tour of the progressive rock pioneers.

Specifically, the 2-disc set features the entirety of King Crimson’s final concert from the Washington DC 9/11 tour, which a statement on the band’s website described as “King Crimson’s last performance in North America “. The collection is rounded out with four songs from an intimate “Friends And Family” concert in Albany, New York on August 22.

“Taken together, these tracks represent both the beginning and the end of a tour that took place despite almost insurmountable problems,” the statement notes … “By the time King Crimson reached Washington DC, the band was in a fierce form with a powerful, energetic ensemble with some reworked and different arrangements from previous tours.

With a restored midsection of ‘Larks’ Tongues In Aspic Part One’ that hadn’t been played since 1973, substantial keyboard arrangements, Tony Levin on double bass during ‘Neurotica’ giving the song extra swing, there is has a closer emotional set, ‘Starless’ and an immensely powerful ’21st Century Schizoid Man’ as a reminder.

King Crimson co-founder Robert Fripp noted an interesting fact about the recall of “21st Century Schizoid Man” to DC “David (Singleton, KC manager / producer), pointed out that the very first play KC performed at the USA, at Godard College, Montpellier, Vermont on Oct. 29. 1969, was the same room as the 52 year old KC – 21CSM.

The last four tracks on the album were performed at a “Friends And Family” concert at The Egg in Albany and “have a more intimate feel,” the statement said. The Albany concert also features material that was not played in Washington DC due to time constraints.

Music is our friend List of tracks:

CD One

  1. Introductory soundscape
  2. Krim’s Hell Hounds
  3. Lark tongues in Aspic Part I
  4. Pictures of a city
  5. Court of the Crimson King
  6. Red
  7. Tony Cadenza offers it Slitheryacious-To-The-Max
  8. Neurotic
  9. Another red nightmare
  10. Indiscipline

CD two

  1. Epitaph
  2. Radical Action II
  3. Level five
  4. Without stars
  5. 21st century schizoid man
  6. Tony Cadenza serves it piping hot
  7. Discipline
  8. Lark tongues in Aspic Part II
  9. he is
[Hat Tip – Ultimate Classic Rock]

About Elizabeth J. Swartz

Check Also

Tom Grennan Teases New Direction on Third Album E! News UK

Tom Grennan was done with ballads when he wrote “All These Nights”. The ‘Little Bit …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.