Midnight Oil announces latest tour and brand new album – Music Reads


[ad_1]

“Having always approached each tour as if it was the last – this time it actually will be,” said Peter Garrett

Midnight oil will be touring one last time, taking dates across Australia in early 2022 before (metaphorically) slipping their passports through a shredder.

The group broke the news overnight Australian time, as well as announcing the upcoming release of their 15th studio album. Resist.

They were adamant, however, that this would not mean the end of Midnight Oil.

“They remain very open to recording new music together in the future and supporting causes they believe in, but this will be their last tour,” a representative of the group wrote in a statement.

Their latest tour will kick off with performances at the Mona Foma Festival in Tasmania and end with a performance at an arena in the band’s hometown of Sydney.

Skip YouTube video

FireFox NVDA Users – To access the following content, press ‘M’ to enter the iFrame.

Midnight Oil were one of the country’s most incendiary rock’n’roll groups from their inception in the 1970s until their split in 2002.

They reformed for a massive world tour in 2017, proving that they had lost none of their power over the time they had devoted to other projects including Politics and a great surf group.

New music was always on the agenda for the newly reformed band, and the first of them came last year. The Makarrata project mini-album, produced in collaboration with First Nations musicians.

This outing saw the band hit the road again, putting on more exciting shows to huge crowds across the country.

The band’s touring life will end in 2022, but Peter Garrett maintains that they still have a lot to say.

“We all know time refuses to stand still for anyone, but after many years together the spirit of the band runs deep, the music and the words are strong, and our ideas and actions as bold as possible. “the leader said in a statement.

Skip YouTube video

FireFox NVDA Users – To access the following content, press ‘M’ to enter the iFrame.

“We have reached people in a way we never could have imagined. Our desire to create and to speak is intact. We hope that everyone who hears this album and attends one of the shows will come away loaded with it. ‘future of the planet, saying’ Why stop now? ‘.

“Always approaching each tour as if it was the last – this time it will be.”

“It will be sad and beautiful concerts, but luckily we are still able to blow up the roof of any stage and that is what we intend to do,” said the guitarist. Jim moginie added.

“You might call it a farewell tour, but Midnight Oil will continue in one form or another as we are brothers, family. We are one, dependent on each other and grateful for all the important ways that make them. great great groups. “

This is your last chance to see Midnight Oil on tour. Tickets are on sale from Wednesday December 1.

Sunday January 23 – Mona Foma, Launceston
Tuesday January 25 – Mona Foma, Launceston
Friday January 28 – Mona Foma, Hobart
Monday January 31 – Mona Foma, Hobart
Wednesday February 23 – Newcastle Entertainment Center
Saturday February 26 – Heifer Station, Orange
Wednesday March 2 – WIN Entertainment Center, Wollongong
Saturday March 5 – Mt Duneed Estate, Geelong
Wednesday March 9 – Rod Laver Arena, Melbourne
Saturday March 12 – All Saints Estate, Rutherglen
Saturday March 26 – Nikola Estate, Swan Valley
Saturday March 30 – Adelaide Entertainment Center
Saturday April 2 – Darwin Amphitheater
Wednesday April 6 – Convention Center Arena, Cairns
Saturday April 9 – Sunshine Coast Stadium
Wednesday April 13 – Brisbane Riverstage
Friday April 15 – Bluesfest, Byron Bay
Tuesday April 19 – Stage 88, Canberra
Thursday April 21 – Qudos Bank Arena, Sydney

[ad_2]

About Elizabeth J. Swartz

Check Also

Ward Thomas Announces New ‘Music In The Madness’ Album And UK Spring Tour

Photo: Marek Puć Ward Thomas has announced a new album and …